It has been a while since I have been able to blog since I started my new job last month, but what could be a more fitting topic to transition back into it than saluting the one and only Tim Duncan.  Yes, I am late to the party, but I deserve to be as a lifelong Spurs fan unlike most other people acting like they will miss Tim Duncan.

Tim Duncan is the fourth major retiree from one of my favorite sports teams, but he is by far the hardest one for me to see ride off into the sunset.  The others are David Robinson, Mariano Rivera, and Derek Jeter (if you notice the common theme:  they all played for the same team).  I am really passionate about my teams and these players were the type of players that put in their work and did not try to make it all about themselves.  I have always love these types of players more than the flashy, steal the show kind of guys.  They let their game do the talking.

Not only has Duncan been the type of player I love to watch, he has been playing for the Spurs every year since I learned what basketball was (which was roughly 2001).  I can say the same for the Admiral, Sandman and Jeter, but Duncan lasted the longest into my lifetime which is why this is the hardest retirement to take in.  In addition to him having played for so long, I felt like I was cheated out of a few more years of seeing the big man.  I thought for sure he had a couple more years in the tank at least as a back up role to help the Spurs continue their streak of 17 consecutive 50 win seasons.  Unfortunately I think the Kevin Durant departure to Golden State may have been a major catalyst in the decision.

Am I mad that Duncan retired?  No, he has done plenty for the Spurs and their fans that I can never be mad at him.  Am I surprised he retired?  Not really, he has put in so much time and effort into playing basketball that I would bet that he has missed out on some experiences with his children so I am not surprised that he finally decided to hang up his shoes.  Do I wish he didn’t retire?  Yeah, what Spurs fan wanted him to retire?  But as a Spurs fan, it’s only right that I salute Timmy D as he moves on to the next chapter in his life.  I am just glad that as a Spurs fan from Indiana, I was finally able to make it to a game at the AT&T Center before Duncan retired, and it’s even cooler looking back now to be able to say I went to see him in his final season (The banner picture is one I took when I was there).  Luckily the Spurs, unlike the Yankees, will be able to minimize the fallout from his retirement and be successful, but it will still be hard not seeing Duncan out there on the floor.  So long Timmy D and happy retirement!  You are more than deserving of it.

