Finally, after a week off I get to see my San Antonio Spurs back in action tonight against OKC!  There’s been a lot of talk about how the Thunder will give the Spurs a tough time.  I’m not worried.  The Thunder have repeatedly shown they are no match for the Spurs ever since they got rid of James Harden after he helped knock off the Spurs.

If you aren’t familiar with the series I’m talking about, or you don’t have a crazy good memory like I do because to this day it still stings, the Spurs were up 2-0 in the Western Conference Finals on OKC and lost the series 4-2 back in 2012.  You may remember that year best as the year LeBron got his first title with Miami.  At the time Harden was not a “superstar” (he may not have ever matched Mark Cuban’s superstar standards in Houston either).  However, he played a huge role in that series including sinking a game winning three in game 5 to put the Thunder up 3-2 in the series.

To this day, I still remember how excited I was when I found out that coming off his breakout playoff performance he was traded to Houston.  I knew that the Thunder traded away a crucial piece to their championship team puzzle (ironically, they received Kevin Martin who is now on the Spurs).  As you can see my prediction has held true thus far and there is talk this could be the last year for Durant and Westbrook to be in OKC together.  That should make for a great series, but I don’t see how this Thunder team is any better than that 2012 team, and this Spurs team is the best Spurs team I have ever seen.  Because of that, I’m sticking to my original prediction.  Competitive games, but ultimately Spurs in 5.

 

 

